The Index – Ultra Rare Late 60’s Detroit Psych

CORRECTION: Thanks to his daughter Jessica for correcting this. Jim Valice was the drummer not the guitar player. I had copied that one line from a site. Bad play. Thanks Jessica!

First off let me start by saying that the band was technically from Grosse Point, but fuck that. The Index started around 1966 when guitarist Jim Valice, drummer John B. Ford and bassist Gary Francis collectively decided it was time to smoke down and turn up. After getting the Hendrix bug like so many around that time, Jim Valice and the boys took to creating The Index. The album was printed by a Detroit record plant (not sure who. Anyone know?) and the DC Records label on the cover is nothing more than a fulfilled requirement by the record plant to have a label logo. It seems these cats hung with the likes of A. Cooper, S. Quatro and the rest of the early Detroit psych/freakout/punk scene. The record is fucking great if you ask me, but I’ll let you judge for yourself rather than blabber on about it.

DWNLD: The Index – Self Titled LP

Here is a link to a great story/interview about the band.

12 thoughts on “The Index – Ultra Rare Late 60’s Detroit Psych

  1. I’VE BEEN COLLECTING THE REISSUES OF THE LOST AMERICAN GARAGE ALBUMS,AND THE LAST ONE I’D THOUGHT I COULD LOCATE SEEMED TO BE THE INDEX’S DEBUT.THEN I CAME ACROSS TO THIS WEBSITE,WHICH TURNED TO BE GODSEND !AND THE MUSIC IS….IN A WORD:STUNNING!MUDDLED RECORDINGS MADE THIS SOUND ALL THE MORE ENERGETIC ,AND OVERALL CHAOS SURROUND THIS MUSIC FROM WHICH WE COULD HEAR NO MORE IN TODAY’S ENVIROMENT.IT’S AN EARTH MAGIC IF I MAY CALL IT!!I REALLY APPRECIATE YOU WITH POSTING SUCH A CLASSIC AND ENABLE ME TO DOWNLOAD.I COLDN’T THANK YOU MORE KAY FROM JAPAN

  2. I love this album even bought one in 85? Paid $666 for it, no shit. Glad I sold it though- my house burn’t down in 99. THE funny Farmer

  3. I read that they pressed up 100 copies of this one and sold it, the rest of it that they didn’t sell, the parents threw out of the house when they moved. Don’t remeber which site i read it on though. Btw; has anyone heard “The Red Album” or Just Us – The USA From The Air album? Those two albums is almost impossible to find.

  4. OH MY!! Thanks so much for sharing! I only came across this band recently and I was immediately blown away! I was looking for the vynil and its around 100$ in ebay…..!!!… now i can at least listen to them on my mp3 😉

  5. one of the stranger records ive come across….thanks to the Cheater Slicks for the Chinese Whispers. and thank you for making it ‘available’.

Leave a Reply

